Close

You’re missed, you should know
You’re with me, in my head, wherever I should flow
Through rain, sun and snow
Through my todays, yesterdays, and tomorrows

Close as can be since long ago
“Close” is a word that now brings sorrow
No longer does the love grow,
No longer does your smile show

I’d do anything for a “hello”
I’d probably kill just for a photo
You don’t have to, though
You were always going to say “no”

Wishing you could hear my woe
Wishing you didn’t leave me solo
Despite all things, I still need you so
Despite you abandoning me in shadow

While you’re not around, I weep like a willow
While you forget about me, I sing in grave tempos
I curse so many songs on the radio
I curse them due to the pain I undergo

Broken promises bleeding me slow
Broken heart drumming in my torso
I don’t think I can let go
I do, however, excuse what things you owe

May your future brightly glow
May you find treasure at the rainbow
Make memories colored from red to indigo
Make memories that, someday, I hope you’ll let me borrow

© 2019 Andi Norton-Madera

Leave a comment